Finding a Large Stash of Pomegranate Arils In a Pomegranate!

It’s National Pomegranate Month!

Does this photo look scary to you? The first thing that comes to my mind is how intimidated I was by this fruit a few years ago. When they first started showing up in supermarkets, they never made it to my shopping cart.

It looked oddly shaped, mysterious, had strange red color variations and quite frankly …  it scared me! Why didn’t it come with opening instructions? Could there really be enough arils worth my time in there?

Those days I’d compare whole pomegranates to the fresh arils in plastic clam shells. The clam shells always won out! I rationalized there were many more arils in a container than a fruit could contain. Wow! Was I wrong!

When I couldn’t find the packaged arils one day, I tackled … the real thing! And learned I’d been missing out on great fun … and lots and lots of arils! How could all those arils come from one fruit? In case there is someone out there, like me, who has held out working with a fresh pomegranate … let me show you how easy it is to extract those morsels of juicy goodness!

Pick out a pomegranate heavy for its size. It will have more juice inside. This one is about the size of a small grapefruit.

I haven’t really settled on one way to open a pomegranate, so slicing down the middle seems easiest.

Now….the fun part! Using your fingers simply detach the juicy arils from the membrane and start making a pile.

This is the amazing part! The entire inside is FILLED with arils! Who knew?

For a reference ….. my small grapefruit-sized pomegranate gave me 2 cups of fresh pomegranate arils. The best part is they keep well in a sealed container for several days in the refrigerator.

In honor of National Pomegranate Month I’ll be enjoying fresh, juicy pomegranate arils on salads, oatmeal, yogurt and ice cream … plus the occasional handful too!

Comments

  1. Looks wonderful! I cannot remember the last time I bought a pomegranate and they are so good for you!

  2. I adore pomegranates. They are so delicious!

  3. I have one in my fridge now, but it’s been years since I actually opened one. The few I’ve purchased usually get handed over to my daughter because I’m not getting around to dealing with getting those arils (I’ve always called them “seeds”) outa there! I’ve read in several food mags that opening underwater works best. Latest technique read about had something to do with banging it around alot, which I just can’t see doing! Anyway, I hope to open it soon. (It’s been so long that my adult son asked the other day, “What’s a pomegranate look like?” He’s heard it mentioned somewhere. At least I had one to show him!

    • Marilyn, I often refer to them as “seeds” as well! 🙂 That’s interesting about opening them underwater. Great Tip! It would certainly control them … them seem to “roll” forever on a cutting board or countertop. Maybe your son need to experience “harvesting” the arils for you. 😉

