Toasted Walnut Sour Cream Fudge

FotoFlexer_Photo FUDGE

Nothing says Christmas in my home like homemade candies. I really love traditional southern homemade Christmas candies like Toasted Walnut Sour Cream Fudge. I’ve tasted several variations of this recipe and many simply included candied red cherries to give it a festive appearance.

But I like to add toasted chopped walnuts to my fudge. I think it adds just a wonderful depth and dimension of flavor, plus a nice textural experience in the mouth.

Please don’t shy away from something with toasted nuts. I understand … burned my fair share of nuts in the oven too! Then I developed a fail-proof way to toast nuts without worrying about them burning and tasting bitter.

Simple place the chopped nuts on a flat baking sheet in a cold oven. Turn the oven to 325-degrees and when the timer tells you the oven is up to temperature …. your nuts are perfectly toasted. I then pop them into a bowl and place into the freezer for about 10 minutes to stop the cooking. This keeps the nuts really soft and moist too. Now you have perfectly toasted walnuts for Toasted Walnut Sour Cream Fudge. How simple is this?

Toasted Walnut Sour Cream Fudge

Yield: 20 pieces

Ingredients:

  • 2-1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup regular sour cream
  • 1/4 cup whole milk
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 tbsp light corn syrup
  • 1/4 tsp fine sea salt
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup toasted chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 cup chopped candied red cherries

Directions:

1. In a heavy 2-quart saucepan combine sugar, sour cream, milk, butter, corn syrup and salt and cook stirring frequently over medium high heat until candy thermometer reaches soft ball stage (238-degrees).

2. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla extract and beat with a mixing spoon until mixture begins to thicken and looses it’s shine; about 5 minutes.

3. Quickly stir in walnuts and cherries; pour into a 4×8-inch buttered loaf pan.

4. After 5 minutes; invert fudge onto a cutting board and cut into 20 pieces.

Comments

  1. Wow!….that looks good.

  2. Yum!

  3. Nuts!! what a great tip for cooking them; I plan to try the recipe this weekend.

  4. Now this recipe looks like 50 pounds of happy in a 5 pound bag. Thank you. This is going to be done this weekend.

  5. OMG! Who knew fudge was so easy to make!? This can be very dangerous. I’m book marking this…

  6. Oh My Gosh! My mouth is watering! This looks wonderful!

  7. They sure look delicious and going to bookmark it. Great tip on the roasting the nuts!

  8. This looks delicious and very festive! A great new recipe to try!

